Regional Director


Transparency Seal

Citizen's Charter



Calendar of Event

Website Hit Counter

Our Mandate
The BJMP has jurisdiction over all district, city and municipal jails. It is a line bureau of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG).
      As such, it shall ensure the establishment of secured, clean, adequately equipped and sanitary facilities, provision of quality services for the custody, safekeeping and development of district, city and municipal inmates, any fugitive from justice, or person detained, awaiting or undergoing investigation  or trial/or transfer to the National Penitentiary, and/or violent mentally ill person who endangers his/herself or the safety of others as certified by the proper medical or health officer, pending transfer to a mental institution. Pursuant to  Republic Act No. 9263 also known as  “The Bureau of Fire Protection and Bureau of Jail Management and Penology Professionalization Act of 2004” the BJMP is envisioned to institutionalize a highly
efficient and competent jail service.



A Regional Office destined for greatness, BJMPRO III was among the first regional offices to be established upon the implementation of RA 6975. The former Office of the Jail Management and Penology (OJMP) occupying more or less 80 sq meters of office space, a section under PC/INP RECOM III at Camp Olivas, San Fernando, Pampanga became RBJMP III on January 1991. J/SSUPT ERNESTO C ESMELE became then the first Assistant Regional Director and staffed by a handful with only two (02) officers, Three (3) senior NCJOs, and three (3) non-uniformed personnel (NUPs)
   The first jail taken over from the police force and manned by BJMP personnel was Sta. Cruz Municipal Jail in Zambales in 1992.
   J/SSUPT ESMELE served as Assistant Regional Director until May 1993 and he was followed by J/CINSP FRANCISCO M ALALONG who served until November 1993 and followed by J/SUPT VICENTE D NATANAUAN until 03 February 1994.
   In 1994, when J/CINSP ARTURO W ALIT(who in later years became Chief, BJMP) was designated Assistant Regional Director (ARD), the Regional Office moved to its new address occupying two floors of the MC Bldg. located at San Matias, Sto. Tomas, Pampanga. As the regional staff and personnel increased, RBJMP-3 occupied all the floors of the bldg. Sir ALIT led this Office from 04 February 1994 to 23 October 1997 and from 21 August 1998 to 18 November 1998. Although he is the youngest and most junior among the ARDs that time, this promising officer who fought for the BJMP during its inception acted like a veteran and seasoned regional director. It was during his leadership that most of the district, city and municipal jails in region 3 were taken over by the BJMP from the PNP.    
    Officers came and go.  AFTER J/CINSP ALIT, J/SSUPT NARDO S RAMOS assumed as ARD from 24 October 1997 to 17 November 1998; followed by J/SUPT ARMANDO M LLAMASARES from 18 March 1998 to 20 august 1998; J/SSUPT RODOLFO V OLEGA from 10 August 1999 to 16 March 2000; J/SUPT WILFREDO C NAVARRETE from 19 November 1998 to 09 August 1999 and from 17 March 2002 to 20 August 2002; J/SSUPT REYNALDO B BERDIN from 21 August 2002 to 18 December 2002; J/SSUPT MAXIMO F ALTUBAR from 19 December 2002 to 11 July 2004; J/SUPT CARLITO BELICANO as Officer-In-Charge from 12 to 20 July 2004; J/SUPT ARTHUR C LORENZO as Officer-In-Charge from 21 July 2004 to 30 September 2004 and J/SSUPT DIONY D MAMARIL from 01 October 2004 to 02 January 2007;J/SSUPT NORVEL M MINGOA from 02 January 2007 to 08 April 2008.
   J/SSUPT GILBERTO P MARPURI took post from 08 April 2008 to 31 December 2009; J/CSUPT ALFREDO D SOLIBA JR from 06 January 2010 to 16 January 2011; J/SSUPT EGMEDIO R CALLOS from 17 January 2011 to 02 January 2012. J/SSUPT ARNULFO P OBIAS from January 03 2012 to July 02, 2014. J/CSUPT ROMEO LABISTE OGOY, TLPE took post from July 02, 2014 to November 09, 2017.
   Today BJMPRO-III is under the able leadership of JCSUPT ALBERTO MARIANO BALAUAG who took post last November 10, 2017.
   During the time of J/SUPT NAVARRETE, a lot was donated for the BJMPRO-III at the Regional Government Center. Presently the regional office is sited at Diosdado P. Macapagal Regional Center, Maimpis City of San Fernando, Pampanga after its transfer in 2009 during the incumbency of J/SSUPT GILBERTO P MARPURI as Regional Director. It was inaugurated on 27 January 2011 wherein J/SSUPT EGMEDIO R CALLOS was then the Regional Director.
    BJMPRO-III has jurisdiction over 38 jails within the 7 province of region III namely; AURORA (Baler MJ), BATAAN (Bataan DJ  Male & Female Dorm, Balanga CJ, Dinalupihan MJ, Mariveles MJ, Pilar DJ), BULACAN (Balagtas DJ, Baliwag MJ, Bocaue MJ, Malolos CJ, Marilao MJ, Meycauayan CJ, Plaridel MJ Male & Female Dorm , Pulilan MJ, San Jose Del Monte CJ Male & Female, Sta Maria MJ), NUEVA ECIJA ( Cabanatuan DJ Male & Female Dorm, Gapan CJ, Guimba DJ, San Jose City DJ, Talavera MJ), PAMPANGA (Angeles DJ Male and Female Dorm, Apalit MJ, Arayat DJ, Guagua DJ Male & Female Dorm, San Fernando DJ), TARLAC (Camiling MJ, Paniqui MJ, Tarlac CJ Male & Female Dorm) and ZAMBALES (Olongapo DJ Male and Female Dorm). Housing more or less 14,000 inmates in 11 district jails, 6 city jails, 8 female dorms and 13 municipal jails. A total of Seven Hundred Ninety Four (794) personnel are assigned in this region.




   Professionalism and Respect for Human Rights






J/CINSP ALFREDO D SOLIBA JR was the first star-ranked Regional Director of BJMPRO-III

The first jail taken over from the police force and manned by BJMP personnel was Sta. Cruz Municipal Jail in Zambales in 1992.

Angeles District Jail was the biggest jail taken over by the BJMPRO-III in 1995.

The separate administration of Female Dormitories was established and managed by female personnel in Cabanatuan on 21 April 2005, Olongapo on 01 August 2005 and Angeles on 16 December 2005.

The Bataan District Jail Male & Female Dormitory was the first provincial Jail taken over by BJMPRO-III from the Provincial Government of Bataan on 18 September 2010 with J/CSUPT ALFREDO D SOLIBA JR as the Regional Director.

Best District Jail of the Year Award for Cabanatuan DJ and Best Municipal Jail of the Year Award for Camiling Municipal Jail during the 15th BJMP Anniversary Celebration last 2006.

Best District Jail of the Year Award for Olongapo District Jail and Best Female Dormitory of the Year Award for Angeles District Jail Female Dormitory during the 22nd  BJMP Anniversary Celebration last 2013.

Best Regional Director of the year for JCSUPT ROMEO L OGOY during the 24th BJMP Anniversary Celebration last 2015.

Best Municipal Warden of the year for JINSP ANTONIO A GUIYAB, Warden of Baliuag Municipal Jail during the 25th BJMP Silver Anniversary Celebration last 2016.

The separate administration of Female Dormitories was established and managed by female personnel in Guagua DJFD on Sept 16, 2016, Plaridel MJFD on January 26, 2017, San Jose DMCJFD & Tarlac CJFD both on June 19, 2017.

Bocaue Municipal Jail was taken over to the BJMP on October 01, 2017.

Best Regional Director of the year for JCSUPT ROMEO L OGOY, Best REGION of the year for BJMPRO-III, and Best District Jail Paralegal Officer for thJO2 John C Libang during the 26th BJMP Anniversary celebration last 2017.


a        a

Regional Government Center, Maimpis, City of San Fernando, Pampanga
Email:, Tel Number: 455-0870
BJMPRO III™ All Rights Reserved 2013